Should we live a simpler life without technology?

To some people, recent booms in the field of technology have allowed environmental problems to take a turn for the worst, therefore, we should maintain a simpler lifestyle. Such opinion is countered by the trend of thoughts that technologies may help solve these problems. The following essay will address both opinions and thereby give my personal feeling.

Supporters of a simpler life with little help from modern technologies point out that the environment is badly impaired by the machines and devices we currently use. For an example, exhaust emitted from cars' engines acts as a central figure air pollution. What is more, we are inhabiting a constantly changing society in which every technology keeps adapting and being revolutionized. For instance, we continuously see the dominance and rapid fall of smart technologies like smartphones. Such phenomenon are thought to create a 'throw-away" society where the life span of a product or invention only extends for several months, which consequently results in over packaging and excessive wastes being disposed and discharged to local ecosystems.

However, technologies also help with the cleansing of our environment. For instance, modern technologies have made it possible to humans to harness renewable and limitless energies like wind, wave and solar that we revolutionize the whole energy industry and initiate positive changes in environmental situation. What is more, advancements in the field of robotics also allow us to make predictions about climate change and get access to some biological, natural disaster sites, the Chernobyl nuclear explosive site provide the best case in point, which are deemed to be fatal to humans.

In brief, technologies, in cases as such, can be two-edged swords which I think the advantages and demerits that they may bring to our Earth may depend upon the way we use them