IELTS writing task 2 - Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language

Question: Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extend you you agree or disagree with this statement.

adapt to new environment by learning local language

Nowadays, there has been a trend in which people tend to go abroad to study and work. As a result, they must speak a foreign language. Some people argue that speaking a language other than a person's mother tongue may lead to some worth-considering social problems as well as practical problems. I totally agree with this statement.

One of the biggest difficulties of immigrants living overseas is language barriers. If a person is incapable of speaking the widely-used language in a country, he is likely to face troubles immersing himself into the new environment. He may find himself helpless and un able to deal with daily simple activities such as talking with neighbors, going shopping, contacting banks and local governments. In addition, the lack of foreign language ability may possibly result in misunderstanding or even cultural conflicts which may marginalize him from the local society. Even worse, some people even violate local regulations because of their illiteracy, they cannot read and understand the regulations to follow the rules.

In addition, poor verbal and written communication in the foreign language may be the main cause of high rate of unemployment among immigrants. A vast majority of immigrants cannot apply for high-paid decent jobs since most of these jobs requires language competence. Also, illiteracy and language misunderstanding may lead to mental health problems such as stress and depression. Therefore, language plays a crucial part in enabling a person to integrate into a new environment.

In conclusion, to adapt to new environment well, immigrants should be able to communicate well in the language spoken in their localities. Lack of foreign language ability may cause multiple troubles to any person living in a foreign country. Therefore, before deciding to relocate in a foreign country, people should learn the language beforehand.