TASK 2: Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious problems,

Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extend do you agree or disgree with this statement?

It is believed that living in a region where individuals are forced to use a foreign language causes severe issues involving practical ones. From my point of view, I agree partly with this opinion.

On the one hand, there are several problems that people could struggle with in their life. First of all, individuals could suffer from various troubles related to communication. If someone is not a local person, living in other countries using their languages sometimes prevents them from understanding entire conversations with others as native speakers tend to use slang and idioms in speaking. As the result, the quality of these conversations would be declined due to individuals cannot interpret and respond immediately or correctly. In addition, individuals could be at risk of having mental health problems due to a lack of connection. This is because several people become unconfident to speak to others as they worry about conflicts and misunderstandings. Gradually, they become isolated and depressed that have a negative impact on their spiritual health. For example, some people have to come back to their hometown after living a short period in other countries due to language barriers.

On the other hand, I believe that living in a country in which people have to communicate without their mother tough brings a variety of benefits. Indeed, this is an ideal environment for people to acquire a new language that they cannot experience in their own nations. They could interact with others in a foreign language the whole day that helping all language skills to be more fluent and native. Additionally, this experience allows them to broaden their knowledge including culture and native people. Those living in other countries have opportunities to make foreign friends enables them to discover their interests as well as their beliefs. At the same time, they could encounter novel and real cultures through their language enabling them to gain deeper insight into real-life experiences.

In conclusion, while some could suffer from several troubles in understanding and mental health when living in another region without speaking their own languages, there is a wide range of disadvantages including boosting their language skills and their knowledge. This explains why I agree with this idea to a certain extent.