IELTS task 2: living in high-rise apartment does not decrease people's sense of community

Some people say that living in a high-rise apartment block is a lonely experience because there is no community spirit. Others say that people who live in high-rise apartments have a much better sense of community than those who live in houses. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The places where people live sometimes influence the way people behave in their community. Some people believe that people who live in high-rise apartments tend to be more active in community compared to those who live on the houses, while the opposite argue that flats occupants more likely to ignore each other. Although it is true that appartment inhabitant does not have much time to interact with each other, there are several reasons which make me believe that they do not lose their community spirit.

Living in an apartment building often associated with lonely experience, because most of flat dwellers are busy people who have very little free time. In fact, virtually 70% of flat block occupants in Pasadena are commuters which have average amount of work-time about 12 hours in every weekday. As a result, these people rarely have free time to serve the community because they do not have enough opportunity to discuss it with the other people. Overall, many people who live in flats rarely involved in community services because most of them have hectic lifestyle.

On the other hand, there are some people who believe that community spirit of high-rise appartment dwellers are not less than that of houses inhabitants because flat buildings accomodate heterogenous society. First of all, flat occupants have a wide range of ages, which make the inhabitants often see directly what the older people suffer from and spontaneously try to help them. It is also hard for difable people to go to their flats by theirseves, and the pople they met in the corridor of lift frequently help them. Moreover, they have different economical status so that there are many weathy occupants who give charity to their poor neighbours.

In conclusion, although high-rise appartment dwellers rarely have free time to be active in many social programs, but the flat circumstances can raise their sense of community. In my opinion, people who are frequently doing small action to help other people represent higher level of community spirit than those who are involved once in a big charity program.