Living in large urban areas has turned into the most attractive choice of many. It may be an issue.

Ielts Task 2 Essay. Problem Solution Essay

People who live in large cities face a range of Problems in their daily life.What are the most significant of these problems? How can these problems be tackled?

Living in large urban areas has turned into the most attractive choice of many. While inhabiting major cities offer a multitude of opportunities, mega-city dwellers face a large number of issues on every day of their lives. This essay will examine some of these problems and then propose some possible solutions.

To begin with, traffic congestion is a serious issue which everyone living in a big city has been struggling with. The increasing number of personal vehicles in addition to the low cost of fuels has led to bumper-to bumper traffic and gridlocks in these cities. To address this problem, governments should provide not only more frequent but also high quality public transportation. Furthermore, more publicity campaign must be done to encourage using bikes and other not-motorist and clean modes of transportation.

Another major issue, is high price of property. For many, buying a small house in such cities is a dream that can never be fulfilled. Statistics show that more that 50% of a city-inhabitant is spent on accommodation. Take Hong Kong as an example, to rent s one meter square accommodation, more than 200 us dollars is charged. To solve this, governments should put more resources into affordable housing and they should provide more subsidies to lessen the burdens of buying a decent house for people with low financial capabilities.

To conclude, dwelling in a major city, considering its many benefits they bring about, is full of different issue, which cannot be fully addressed. The government should start tackling these issues such as traffic congestion and the high costs of accommodation, otherwise living in large cities would be the last choice one might make.