IELTS Writing Task 2 - Living by themselves

Please rate my essay and give advice, Thank you very much

Topic:

The number of people choosing to live by themselves in increasing rapidly in recent years.

Why? Positive or negative development for society?

Living on their own has become increasingly common among the number of people in recent years. People hold different views about how a large proportion of people who decided to live alone affects individuals and societies. To my way of thinking, there are some main reasons for this situation and some negative effects will be discussed later.

There are numerous factors accounting for the reasons why more and more individuals living by themselves. One of the main causes is that the young can be pronounced receive some benefits from that, especially the independence. From living alone without parents' help, young adults can learn more about personal soft skills and the way managing their own money. They can also broaden the freedom and private space and use their schedule which suitable for their work and lifestyle without bothering other family members. Another plausible explanation is reducing responsibilities and financial burden. At some certain ages, people tend to get married and have their kids, that is the reason why many families get difficulties in finance and they must hold bigger duties. Instead of that, others choose to live by themselves to concentrate on developing careers and follow their passion.

In fact, this phenomenon might cause deleterious impacts on individuals and social development. One of the key disadvantages is age population problems. To explain, the elders living alone without a caring person, usually feel isolation, loneliness, and emptiness. It becomes more difficult and dangerous when they sick and too old to take care of themselves. The growing aging population has also resulted in the government taking on additional responsibilities for managing and supporting single families. Moreover, that can lead to unemployment and lacking accommodations.

In conclusion, the youth tend to decide to live on their own because of private space and family responsibilities decreased, and it can have a clear influence on each personal and social development.