IELTS WRITING TASK 2: Is local history more important than world history? Opinion essay.

global vs local history?

Some people argue that schoolchildren should spend most of their time on studying local history rather than global history. However, I do not agree with this opinion because I think that these fields of historical study are equally important.

On the one hand, the study of local history can increase awareness and pride of children about where they live. When children learn local history, this means they learn the history of a town, an old building, a church, and everything around them. Therefore, they can have a clearer understanding of the area in which they still live. Besides, when children hear incredible stories about national heroes from their grandparents, they are inspired to become a good citizen later. In other words, learning local history increases children's confidence and sense of achievement, encouraging them to protect their local community and traditional values.

On the other hand, understanding world history is a cornerstone for children to become a global citizen in the future. The study of the global history can reveal the diversity of human experiences, which motivates schoolchildren to learn more about other cultures. When they develop curiosity, they will be ready to absorb new knowledge and work with others all over the world. It is impossible to become a global citizen without a certain level of curiosity. And the study of world history is a good way to stimulate that interest.

In conclusion, I disagree with the view that children should prioritize the study of local history, because I believe that learning national and world history plays an equal importance in children's development in the future.