IELTS TASK 2 ON LOCAL LANGUAGE LEARNING VS ENGLISH

Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English?

Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

In many countries, acquiring knowledge in the English language is usually considered as being of greater importance than their local counterparts. Some languages are thus at risk of being diminished. To my mind, it is crucial to study both the English language and the local languages.

As the world enters the era of globalization, it is of utmost importance that everyone can communicate with others. English as one of the most frequently used languages therefore needs to be taken into consideration for many people who want to connect with the world. Especially for young people, having proficiency in English helps them apply to highly ranked universities in other countries, get decent jobs and might ensure a better quality of life. For the older ones, learning English still benefits them in some aspects. They could have a greater opportunity at improving in their career, or as simple as being more confident in going on holiday abroad.

However, being fluent in English doesn't compensate for the necessity of knowing one's own native language. The local language contains a region's identity and heritage, which is unique and indispensable. In order to ensure a rich legacy of a country being passed onwards to future generations, preservation of languages needs to be taken into consideration. In order to do that, the government first needs to enact laws that include local languages in primary education, while the citizens can also be of great help by studying them conscientiously. There are some countries that have already started implementing those initiatives, some even have financial aid for writers to produce books in their own language in order to promote the use of the language.

In conclusion, while studying English offers a great deal of benefits, people should also have a knowledge of their native languages.