Should long-term job-seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work

TOPIC:- should long-term job-seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community?

voluntary services contribution

In many countries, the government gives benefits to the unemployed or long-term job-seekers. It is observed that people take undue advantages of these benefits and take it for granted. Some people suggest that this section of the society should be involved in voluntary services. As their involvement could be considered as their contribution to the community.

In my opinion, unemployed people should be involved in different types of voluntary works based on their skills and key interests. As this will be a significant contribution to the betterment of the society. For example, voluntary works like teaching kids in a remote village would be a remarkable step in the upliftment of the underprivileged society.

Moreover, such interactions could also help these people in enhancing their knowledge, building confidence and overall personality development. Their involvement in voluntary services would make them realize the importance of work. They would develop a sense of ownership and responsibility towards their work. Furthermore, such activities could also help people in building strong networks. As they would get ample of opportunities to interact with people and showcase their talents. This could aid them to fetch a good job based on their key interests.

However, there are a few drawbacks to it which cannot be ignored. It is observed that people involved in community services like working with poor children, senior citizens, abandoned or injured animals etc., expose themselves to the risk of emotionally getting involved. This would leave them sad or anxious for those whom they are trying to help.

To conclude, doing voluntary services will benefit both the individuals as well as the society. Hence, these activities would provide new avenues to the individuals and contribute to the overall development of the country.