A longer lifespan can cause some problems for both individuals and society, but these are fixable

IELTS WRITING TASK 2

In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging populations.

People in this modern world can indeed live a longer lifespan. This would cause some problems for both individuals and society, but I believe we can do something to tackle these problems.

With the increasing average life expectancy, there is no doubt that many practical problems could happen in the future. Firstly, overpopulation is unavoidable, which will contribute more pressure on the Earth, there will be more people who need houses, food, and cars. These all need to consume natural resources, such as land, forest, and nonrenewable fuel. Secondly, more older people should be taken care of, so more money will be spent on healthcare, building hospitals, training doctors and so on. Last but not least, for individuals, the long-life people would face a situation that their property is not enough to support their living in the last few years of their lives.

While these problems are certain to rise as the population of countries grows older, I believe that there are a lot of things we can do to reduce the impact of the aging population. Limit family size can be a reasonable way to deal with it. And this way can combine with that postpone the young people adults to have a baby, both can bring less newborn babies, and therefore reduce the population to a certain extent, even though people are expected to live longer than before. Furthermore, governments should launch educational programs that educate elder people to improve their awareness of health and encourage them to exercise more to reduce the risk of diseases such as cancer, diabetes, and arthritis, which could cause fewer needs for medical resources.

In conclusion, I believe that the aging population can cause a serial of problems, but we have many solutions to reduce the impact.