Loss of plants and animals vs other major environmental issues

Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the last of a particular species of plants and animals.

Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

This is my essay:

It is believed by some that the primary environmental issue faced by humans is the last of specific species of plants and animals, while others believe that there are graver environmental issues. While the disappearance of certain species can result in a rise in certain illnesses, there are more crucial environmental issues faced by humans, such as air pollution.

On the one hand, the disappearance of some species can lead to widespread diseases caused by some animals. This is because those species feed upon certain animals and plants that are dangerous to people. Their disappearance will exponentially increase the population of these animals and the diseases they transmit. For example, in Italy, they conducted an experiment in which they got rid of cats in one of their cities. This led to an overpopulation of rats throughout that city and led to a spike in rat-borne illnesses. However, I disagree that this is the biggest environmental threat because there are technological remedies that can address this issue.

On the other hand, it is thought that air pollution is the gravest issue that humans have to deal with. This is because there has been a significant increase in activities that contribute negatively to the environment in recent times. There are several factories setup in every country that release toxic gases into the atmosphere, which makes the air harmful for us to breathe and can result in several health complications, such as lung and heart diseases. For example, the NHS reports admitting several patients each year for preventable lung conditions who live closer to such factories. Therefore, I agree with this view because it is detrimental to one's health.

In conclusion, even though the extinction of some species can result in an increase in certain diseases, the pollution of the air is more crucial and should be dealt with at the earliest.