Main function of universities; Well-rounded graduates

Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employee.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Since the dawn of tertiary education, the main function of a university has been a frequent topic of discussion. Some people hold the opinion that employable skills and knowledge should be the concentration of teaching tasks, while others think universities should provide more than that.

In the increasingly materialistic era, citizens appear to be more realistic and target aiming. We tend to push things through even in education, which arouse the voice of establishing institutions such as vocational schools to just offer marketable knowledge. Specifically, those schools eliminate unrelated courses to minimize the length of study period so that students are able to graduate and work much earlier compared to their counterparts. As a result, it seems to be quite effective on condition that colleges focus on how to satisfy the market.

Nevertheless, opponents maintain that necessary knowledge including high moral values should be accessible to receivers. Without a clear and correct viewpoint towards the meaning of life and a sense of responsibility for the society, a straight-A student may commit suicide or even hold grudge against the society. Several tragic gunshots caused by well-educated students have definitely proven it. Additionally, as a fact that most teenagers cannot anticipate their careers when choosing majors, a great number of graduates probably won't seek a profession related job. Therefore, in case that teachers impart knowledge on the ability to learn besides employable skills, students have a greater chance to survive the societal competition in the long term.

In conclusion, I am convinced that the true function of a university is providing various knowledge for its own sake. Moreover, it is my belief that the ultimate goal of tertiary education should be cultivating well-rounded graduates rather than employees only.