IELTS Task 2 : The main function of a university

Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skill needed in workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for it own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

University is the place to give specific knowledge for students. Meanwhile, some people think that university should prepare graduates for working. Personally, I agree that university's role is to prepare graduates in the workplace. However, I also believe that education process in university has a positive impact on individuals.

Obviously, now the higher education prepares students for working and university provide graduates with the activities which support their academic skill. These include people skills such as, communication skills, collaborative skills, analytical skills, and networking skills. For example, in university, student study about how to write properly in their task, such as thesis and report. Then, students understand how to write a great job application letter and curriculum vitae or represent their character and talent at a job interview. As we know that, many of companies need fresh graduate who competence in their specialization. Thus, this is why the argument that university has a role to prepare students for working after they graduate.

However, study about specific knowledge is an important to build intelligence of student and practical context. For example, study about Law and Political Sciences are commonly to understand about social problem and demand to solve all the potential crises. As such, the degree will provide with an understanding of the sources which are leading to the transformation to identify the new skills and competencies required for the learning consultant affected by these changes. Therefore, the knowledge which the students have truly become more benefit to their social life. Because of this the graduates have positive impact to show their intellectual to become better individual.

In conclusion, both sides of the argument have possibility to enhance the qualities of the graduates. It is clear that university has a role to produce the best graduates which can compete with others to get proper job in the future