TOEFL Essay "The main task of universities is to offer the students with the...D

Hello everyone, I need u to help me correct my essay :)

I think that maybe I have sth wrong

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The main task of universities is to offer the students with the knowledge and skills which are essential for their future career or give them the access to the knowledge itself.

Undoubtedly, providing students more practical or academic education become a great issue in modern society. For students' future work, practical education is really important; however, I agree with the statement that universities should offer the students with the access to the knowledge itself. My reasons are as following.

First of all, to develop the basic abilities, students should acquire theories in the beginning. If students do not gain any basic knowledge in their field, it may lead them run in to difficulties before they start to do their own projects. For example, when I was a college student, I major in computer science department. In the beginning, I did not have any ideas in how to build my project. I did not know what can I do and how can I do. After I finished those basic theories courses at first year, I gained more experience and expanded my horizons. At the same time, I read a large amount of information through the Internet which developed my basic views in computer science. Therefore, I can find the way and do a great job as better as I can.

Moreover, it is difficult to implement what students learn in the universities when they are freshmen in businesses. The major reason is that no people can guarantee what students will do in their future work. Although I, for example, will hunt my work which is related to computer science, it can not say that the work what I do that I've learn. If students can acquire more academic theories than practical methods, it can help them change the theories and implement it to different ways.

Last but not least, although practical education is important, it should be combined with academic knowledge. If students mere learn a lot of practical manners and gain a large number of practical experience in the universities, they will lose their basic abilities to develop new knowledge by themselves. Practical methods are based on knowledge. On the other hand, using academic knowledge to create the real things is students' final goal.

For the reasons above, I agree that universities should offer the students with the access to the knowledge itself.