Maintaining Individualism - Informal Essay

In the twenty-first century, maintaining individuality has proven to both bring about the biggest change in one's environment and become one of the biggest challenges by far. In today's world it is evident that you do not have to change whom you are to be successful, and that success can come in many different ways. Therefore, it is possible to gain success without confining to societal norms, by maintaining your sense of individuality. The music industry is a good example where society does not prove where one can be successful or not.

"17: What did the record labels think of you?

KP: They wanted me to be like someone else who was popular at the time...I desperately wanted my own lane. It took five years to convince people to let me do it." Seventeen Magazine Vol. 68, No.7 July 2009 Page 097

"I had a very strong vision and some record companies didn't like that, but I waited for the right one and took a chance. I was lucky because it doesn't always pay off." Katy Perry Cosmogirl Magazine Vol. 24, June 2009

Something like the music industry should not determine who you are, or what you should become. Although it has opened the doors for many new upcoming artists in the 21st century, lets face it "we" as the consumers, the listeners, the judges of this very music have not quite broken the molds to what "we" believe are music artists. In this society, different appears not accepted as often as "same ole". Why can't we accept individuality when it rolls along? Katy Perry, whom was influenced to change and conform to what other artists were doing at the time, is a true example of what individuality is.

"We", the judges were unwilling to accept her individuality, edgy and non-typically good girl image, she fought to be liked by the music industry as well as "we", her judges. But her most recent video out today "Fireworks", perfectly describes how one can go astray following the crowd and not show their true selves. In her song she tries to inspire persons to "ignite" their spark and show the world they're qualities, their character, their individuality.

Katy was inspired to write "Fireworks", from a book she had on her "must read" list of the summer. The book was titled, "On the Road" by Jack Kerouac. She was able to speak with the author himself.

"I want to be around the people that are fizzing and bubbling, who never say a common place thing. They are like fireworks! They are bursting in the sky, and making everyone go ahh... that's who I feel like I am, who I want to be..."Katy Perry youtube.com/watch?v=1VClUOTOwTc

Her song begins with the opening stanza:

"Do you ever feel like a plastic bag

Drifting through the wind"

Referring to when someone decides to put aside their individuality to follow the crowd, to "fit in". They become no one in particular, instead of leading he or she result to following which leaves them relating the simile Katy uses in her 1st stanza.

"Do you ever feel, feel so paper-thin

Like a house of cards

One blow from caving in"

Perry uses imagery and comparison in the 2nd stanza, the interpretation being that one has become so adjusted following the crowd and not being one self that it beginning to take a toll on that person. Changing who you are, and being someone you aren't can be a great amount of work and stress trying to maintain that. Also because it is not your true self you become unhappy with your self and with what you are doing that is what is being expressed through this stanza.

In the video, scenes show a girl sitting down at a party, almost as if she was not meant to be there, assumed by the chaos going on around her. Others around her are drinking, dancing and just doing things like others around them, or "following the crowd". As for the girl though, she sat there almost as if she was questioning herself, for why she was there in the first place. This is the part of the video that shows when a person realizes that "there's still a chance" for them.

Perry's short and simple stanza's all have within them a far deeper meaning that Perry wants to see in her self and in her friends.

"Do you know that there's still a chance for you

Cause there's a spark in you

You just gotta ignite the light

And let it shine"

What my opinion is that every person has their own character, their own qualities. No one has to be someone they aren't, everyone has the chance to show who they really are to the world, whether your world consists of your family, your friends or strangers. It just takes finding the courage to say no to being influenced, or saying no to letting what others think drown your common sense and dignity. You are your own self, "let it shine".

The series of literal fireworks that do go off through scenes in the video is a comparison of persons to fireworks. Fireworks are unpredictable; each one is different in their own unique way. Each with its uniquely striking colors, sparks, or even sounds. This same concept goes for humans. No one has the same characteristics, or qualities; we are our own entire individuals.

Scenes in Perry's video seem to depict the unity of numerous individuals from different backgrounds and races opening up and being themselves. They all appear to be dancing together not because they are following one another but because they want to do it; it is something that they are enjoying. No one is wearing the same outfit, or doing the same dance, but in some way they still come together as one in a sense.

The fact that someone is not conforming can "change" the whole concept people have about forcing themselves to "change" or fit into society. Therefore it can put an end to conforming or altering one's true self and bringing about a greater change, which in fact would be to maintain individualism.