Maintaining old buildings is a very important thing to preserve one of country's heritages

Question:

Many old buildings protected by law are part of a Nation's history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by new ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Answer:

Historic buildings today are a part of country's inheritance. As such, while the general view has been that such buildings have to be replaced by new constructions, I believe that maintaining ancient buildings is very important as they are symbol of places and can attract tourists. Then, standing history in buildings is a compulsory, since it will keep the existence of that ones and is a pride of society.

Old buildings are often considered o be arts in many areas. By doing so, people can easily identify countries by architectural constructions. For example, A 2013 New York Times recently reveals that 80% American tourists who travel abroad said that recognizing historic building is the easiest way to distinguish their countries' destinations. As a consequence, ancient constructions represent the character of particular society. Therefore, they should be protected forever. Not only this, prevent the buildings also can encourage international and domestic visitors. This is because these buildings show how people lived in the past.

Apart from this, maintaining the history for modern buildings is an obligation for every person in many concrete-arguments. Initially, the value of historic buildings will exist for the following decades. If people do not combine historic methods with modern buildings in this present day, it is inevitable that the next generations will lose their identities such as special designed buildings. What is more, people are being pride of their ancestor's art. This is because the historic-building art is a symbol of achievement which has been done by the ancestors of society.

To conclude, one of country's heritages is spectacular old buildings. Although some argue that these buildings should be replaced by new ones. I totally believe that tourists' attraction and places' character are the main reasons why preventing such buildings are predominant. Afterwards, changing new buildings is essential due to the existence and pride. Where possible, the government and inhabitants should go hand in hand to look after the amazing historic buildings.