GRE Essay: major cities study to learn characteristics of a society

To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

(Response)

A society is an amalgam of cultures and lifestyles. To study a society it is necessary to study all of its characters; education, entertainment, food, and religion. The major cities are usually a hub of resources and opportunities hence people from all socioeconomic background arrive and develop these cities bringing along their languages, religions, cuisine, and entertainment sources. Although the major cities may not represent the true population, these can still provide a beneficial approximation of a society.

Education is what defines a society in today's world. I have seen in my own city, an infinite number of schools, colleges and universities in both government and private sector. Of course, the public schools and colleges are comparatively less progressive than those in private sector but, for universities, the case is reversed. It is due to adequate funding from the government for the research and development purpose. The conditions of these educational institutes more appropriately reflect the overall literacy of the population.

The socioeconomic background of people can be studied viewing the job types and daily expenditures of individuals and families. In cities, the careers may vary from clerical positions to executive ones. Apart from the working class, businessmen, industrialists, politicians, all inhabit these cities and present the economical chart that may exist. In our country, villages mostly present the agricultural setup and hence most working class is constituted by farmers. The towns more often are full of people trained in a particular skill for e.g. football sewing in the city of Faisalabad. Hence these towns and villages may not be an appropriate representation of the whole society.

The language, arts and literature is what unites the diverse members of society despite of their educational, religious and economical differences. The national language, provincial languages, and variety of dialects almost all can be found in the major cities. Most of the city dwellers are bilingual and many even multilingual who thereby support and promote the literature.

It may be argued that the condition in these major cities highly vary from those observed in smaller cities, towns and villages. This is particularly true for underdeveloped and developing countries. The most important difference is of traditional values observed in towns and villages. Major cities around the globe present a similar freedom loving environment however, that is not true for the smaller dwellings. Human rights specially children and women rights are often ignored and violated in these areas and are in a significant way, representative of the social thinking.

The major cities may not truly reflect the overall society but it does provide us an easy manner to study and analyze a society. Studying minor cities and towns may only provide knowledge regarding the local population. The only other option would be to study each and every town and village setting, which is almost impossible.

(Please grade on a scale of 1-6)