The major environmental issue of our time is the extinction of many living creatures on earth

the loss of particular species

Controversy surrounding the environmental problem never seems to cease. While many individuals believe/opine that the major environmental issue of our time is the extinction of any living creature on earth. Others assert that there are even more crucial problems to be concerned about. While I agree that reduced biodiversity is a serious problem, I believe that we are facing more pressing environmental concerns.

On the one hand, many people are of the opinion that the extinction of animal species is the main environmental problem. It is true that biodiversity plays a central role in our life, it provides our food, cleans our water, provides medicine for curing illness, and even creates the oxygen that we breathe. As a matter of fact, biodiversity is crucial in enabling us to survive and stay healthy. If we reduce the amount of biodiversity, by driving many species to extinction, we cannot expect that nature will be able to keep providing these things for us.

On the other hand, I side with those who believe that there are more urgent environmental concerns to tackle. One of the main problems could be air pollution. Such contamination is created by fumes of vehicles and gases in industrial factories, creating serious health problems for humans such as lung cancer and respiratory diseases. In addition, climate change is also creating detrimental impacts on human life. More specifically, extreme weather events have become more intense and frequent, like earthquakes in Japan or frequent storms in Vietnam, which cause major human and asset losses.

In conclusion, although the reduction of wildlife species is a serious problem, I believe that other major environmental concerns should also be considered.