TOEFL: Making large amounts of money or earning a comfortable living ?

Prompt: Many people believe that it is very important to make large amounts of money, while others are satisfied to earn a comfortable living. Analyze each viewpoint and take a stand. Give specific reasons for your position.

Money is very important for a convenient life. It satisfies our demand, supports many appliances and makes most of people feel happy. However, many youth just focus all of their energy to earn a lot of money but forget to hold joyful and meaningful moments in life. Therefore, people need to balance two things: earning money and enjoying a comfortable living to succeed in life.

More money helps people purchase better things. Parents can pay better education for their children. These kids will have opportunities to study in a wonderful environment and prepare well for their future. With money, people can have a sufficient life_ a nice house with a lot of modern household appliances such as three D plasma TV, washing machine and an expensive car. Besides, people can use their money to travel around the world, to enjoy delicious food in restaurants in everywhere, to discover different cultures and to have more experiences about the world outside.

Nevertheless, if people just focus on earning money, they won't have time to spend all of it and enjoy their full life. Reducing work hours may cost us some money, but it releases our stress and provides us time to take care of our family. Family members can attach their relationship by joining in outdoor activities, watching TV or eating dinner together. This enables them to talk, to laugh, to share stories about schools, about friends to one another.

In my own viewpoint, I prefer to work less and spend more time to enjoy my life. I'm very young and curious. I want to spend my free time pursuing my hobbies like playing badminton, swimming, hanging out with my friends. Or I can sit reading a book beside a window and feel the wind blowing, the sun shining and the birds singing to chew my own thought. I want to own my life, not to depend on it.

In sum, people want money and they study, they work for money doesn't mean they must become slaves of money. People still have a life in front of them and they can lose a little of money to buy unregretful moments instead. (359 words in 35 mins)