Making money or traveling before entering university is valuable for students

In some countries young people are encouranged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

At present, it is commonly recommended that young people graduate from high school should go out to work or travel for one year before they enter university. In my opinion, the effective varies from the subject you plan to learn during the university.

Working or travelling before enter the university will be very helpful especially for these students who want to study subjects such as arts, humanities and social science. without high pressure of study in university, people can spend plenty of time to widen their scope and get the experience which can not be achieved from school. Through visiting different art gallaries, museums and culture center, they can gather many useful informations for their future university study. Besides, they can also acquire many valuable experience through communicating with people from different area with different diversity culture and habit.These valuable experience whcih is very hard to get from university will be great help for these students.

Whereas, for the people who will study science and engineering, will not get much help from the society practices through working and travelling. Students graduate from high school, have not accumulated enough theorical knowledge, are unlikely to understand the professional work, limited experience will be got even they managed to work for the certain area. Furthermore, without basic skills, students will lose their cofidences and enthusiasms if they work hard but can not understand the ordinary process of the technology. Besides, travelling will not benifit them for the future learning either, for nobody will impart you any professional skills related to society and engineering.

In conclusion, working and travelling before entering university will be very valuable for these people who plan to study arts, humanities and social science, however, people focus on socience and engineering during the university will get very limited experence related to these areas.