[TOEFL] A/D Making sure that your strengths are known by others leads to success

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? If you do not make sure other people (especially influential people or your employers) know about your strengths and accomplishments, you will never get successful in life.

Living in a competitive world, every person strives for success in life. Some people believe that showing personal strengths and accomplishments to influential people or one's own employers is the best way to achieve success, while others do not think it has much relevance between them. In my opinion, I believe that it is necessary to make sure that other people know about a person's strengths in order to gain success in life.

First, making sure that one's strength is being noticed by others can bring a person more chances toward success. Influential people or employers can virtually affect and even control a worker's future in career. They have the absolute power of deciding one's own position and their jobs are exactly finding the most talented and competent workers who can bring benefits to their companies. Therefore, if a person does not impress his/her employer by his/her capacity, he/she will be easily ignored and replaced, hence losing the chance to stand a position in jobs. For example, my mother started her career as a secretary. She got promotion by her boss very early and quickly and now she becomes an accounting superintendent in the company. The reason why she mounted so fast is because that she excelled in arranging her boss's schedule efficiently and filing documents neatly. She even voluntarily did many things without her boss asking. It is her positive impression to her boss that helps her get success.

Second, demonstrating one's strengths and accomplishments actively is itself a curial method for pursuing success, regardless of the status of oneself and the person one is going to impress. Even a supreme CEO from a big company still needs to ensure his/her partner about his/her strength. In other words, a person should always be expressive for what he/she is good at. It is a way of showing ambition and determination. Chances will not come to those who just keep his/her strengths inside and passively wait for someone to appreciate.

In conclusion, showing one's strengths and achievements to others is critical for reaching success. It not only opens the door for more chances, but also overall reflects one's positive attitude for being active and ambitious.