"Malcolm X and Dr King" esssay, fighting inequality

Malcolm X's tactic of using violence to end inequality was more effective than Martin Luther King's approach. Malcolm X was born on May 19, 1925 in Omaha, Nebraska. He's upbringing had a big impact towards he feelings of inequality and how it should be handled.

Malcolm X and Dr. King had opposing views on how to end inequality. Malcolm X at a young age was told by a teacher that he had unrealistic goal for his race, this caused Malcolm to become very upset and drop out of school. Since then he moved around a lot, and had many small jobs. While away from Nebraska Malcolm started being involved in crimes. They were small, but had an impact of him. This impact had a cause when Malcolm was sent to jail for seven years. While there a friend came and visited him, and made him aware of the Islam belief. This intrigued Malcolm, and he started to teaching himself more about the religion. During this time, Malcolm learned of the Islam leader Elijah Muhammad. Muhammad taught that white society actively worked to keep African-Americans from empowering themselves and achieving political, economic and social success. Among other goals, the Nation of Islam fought for a state of their own, separate from white people. By the time he was on parole in 1952, Malcolm was a devoted follower of the Islam religion. He gave himself the last name "X." He considered "Little" a slave name and chose the "X" to signify his lost tribal name. Malcolm was awarded the position of minister and national spokesperson of the Islam nation. Due to the heightened racial tension in the 1960's the FBI become more aware of Malcolm X and the nation of Islam. They began planted bugs wiretaps and cameras surveillance equipment to monitor the group's activities. After President John F. Kennedy's assassination, Malcolm ended his relationship with the nation of Islam. Be began his own organization called Muslim Mosque, Inc. After joining he left the states for awhile, upon returning he had a new found knowledge to share to all races. People weren't happy with Malcolm's messages and many tired to kill him. This caused Malcolm's travels to ceased. He was finally shot and killed during one of his speeches in New York. Whereas Martin Luther King developed a four step program at which was nonviolent. They developed a campaign of facts to determine whether injustice existed. This step was found to be very overwhelming to the black leaders. They used all the information gathered for their benefit. They found that racial injustices surrounded the whole community. The Negro population was not getting the right amount of respect from everyone else. The negotiations that the black leaders tried to obtain was seen as useless. They felt this way because the negotiations ended up being broken promises. For example promises were made the people would remove racial signs from their window, which never occurred. This was a great disappointment to the leaders. They now saw more reason for their nonviolent act of protest. All the major people refused to find negotiations with the black leaders. Self-purification was a major step in the campaign that the black leaders used. This step was used to ensure that the men would be able to keep themselves inline during the direct-action step. This was a time where the men received training so they'd be able to stay strong. They had to repeatedly ask themselves whether or not they were could withstand torture and not retaliate. Direct action was used in the final steps in the campaign the black leaders used. During the Direct-action step they were creating a crisis situation in order to reach negotiation. This tactic seemed to work well for them. At first they planned to take this step during Easter season, but changed their minds frequently. By creating the crisis situation they would be able to get men away from prejudice and racial discrimination.

These two major men in history played a huge role in the end to inequality. They took different approaches and in the end, Malcolm X's was seen as more successful as while over Martin Luther Kings. Without these men, there still might be inequality today.