[IELTS task 2] Males and Females should have an Equal Education Opportunity

Title:

Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

My essay

In universities, the gender of the student is a hotly debated topic that divides opinions. Many people claim that we live in an age when we should strike a balance between the numbers of male and female students in every subject. But some others disagree that. In my view, I totally agree with this argument.

First and foremost, we have to recognize the indispensable role of female students. The history suggests that men dominated the development of science, arts, politic, social... Despite this, we cannot deny the important contributions of women. For instance, Merry Curie was the first women scientist who received Nobel Prize for providing many scientific researches and radioactivities such as discovering of polonium, radium... Furthermore, there is an old saying:"Give me an educated mother and I will give you an educated nation". It is clear that a mother is much more emotionally attached to their children and friendlier to them than their fathers. Consequently, in family, a good woman who has high education certainly leads their kids to better study. Last but not least, the numbers of students in universities should be equally divided for male and female because this help to increase communication skills when it comes to having closer relationships with the opposite sex. In fact, research has shown that people have more chances of finding their partners to get married thankful to their university life.

In conclusion, I think that male and female students should have an equal opportunity to participate in every subject in universities.