My essay about Mass media have great influence in shaping people's ideas

Topic: The mass media, including televisions, radios and newspapers, have great influence in shaping people's ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The mass media, since being invented, have experienced many improvements, undergone numerous in variety from television, radio, newspaper to the internet. No matter what the historical period is, what the form is, the intrinsic purpose of mass media always is to circulate informations through a large group of people. In these times, owning to the prevalence of mass media, it is believed that these tools have profound impacts in shaping people's ideas. I totally agree with this argument.

Firstly, it is clear that televisions, radios and newspapers (both printed and online newspapers) are easy and effective ways for citizens in gathering informations by dint of the presence of them in all classes of population. People watch televisions everyday, read newspapers every hour, therefore, it goes without saying that mass media has the capability to affect their mind. Let's take advertising as a telling example of these influences. With the support of advanced technologies and professional maketing theories in attracting people's concerns, contemporary advertising has a big say over customers' shopping manner. As in the case of China, despite the truth that nothing is better than breast milk in the development of infants, increasing Chinese young parents tend to nurture their children using desiccated milk with the illusion that they will be taller and more intelligent than others.

When it comes to other aspects : the health programme on radios and televisions or the medical journals provide us general knowledge about phenomenoms of diseases, the causes and the prevention of them, which is conducive to maintain our lifestyle; the travel articles or the discovery channels, which reveal about the beauty of destinations around the world where, even though, we have never dreamed to visit, contribute to change our world view. Another point supporting this perspective is that the young imitate the style of famous stars from their hair styles, clothes, performances to their behaviours and ways of thinking. According a report of the UN in human development, the increase of criminal rate in the young of Eastern societies associates with the violence being widespread on the mass media in such nations.

All things considered, despite it has positive or negative influences, the truth that mass media deeply affect behaviour and thinking of the majority of people is undeniable, which, therefore, leads to the question about the role of governments in controlling the content being spread by these mass media.