Mass media means a bridge between people in different places

I really want to improve my English skill within a month. Please help me. I'll take my IELTs exam next month.

Compare the advantages and disadvantages of three of the following as media for communicating information. State which you consider to be the most effective.

- Comics

- Books

- Radio

- Television

- Film

- Theatre

choosing the best media for communication

Most people agree that the 21st century can be called 'the age of media', which is quite true as the world of media influences us in different ways. However, some of these bring benefits for us, there are also bad points. Since the advancement of technology, people today are getting attached to television and films, books also make its position to stand at the top of media list.

Firstly, books have the special power to maintain the daily lives of the children and those of middle-aged people. For educational purpose, children have to study text books where they can gain knowledge that can surely improve their thinking skills. The role of novels or magazines cannot be neglected because they are chosen by most middle-aged in order to learn about logical events. Moreover, we can get and read books easily whenever we need from bookstore or shops although without much room for pictures in book and full of words pages make us easily get boring.

Secondly, the majority of older people find television as the best entertainment for their age. Television, known as the massive media, broadcast a wide range of different programmes. The most noticeable advantage is up-to-date news of the world or local places so that we can know what things are going on today. Some TV programmes like Discovery show how animals struggle for their living so that we should value and protect them. On the contrary, a lot of advertisements interfere with our interest and make us feel like we are wasting time.

Finally, I want to mention about films by which a huge number of young people are addicted. For instance, Korean films are a hit to the Myanmar youngsters; can even be mentioned as 'Korean Wave'. I personally believe that we can learn many good things such as manners, historical facts and living standard in other countries if we watch foreign films with a positive attitude. But, imitations can sometimes cause terrible culture mixing and may result in violence.

To sum up, media means a bridge between people in different places to look forward to more advanced globalization, so, in my opinion, we should properly use media with better intentions to level up our social skills for better lifestyle.