Materials printed on paper or given in an electronic form? I am working for Toefl Exam.

The Question

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

researching materials form

Researching is important part of our lives. We face many subjects to do research in our daily life. These can be about job, education or other necessary things. Some people choose printed materials such as books and articles while researching. Also, some of them prefer internet. In my point of view using printed materials is not good choice. I always research by internet for two important reasons.

The main reason is that we can access the information that we need easily and rapidly with the help of internet. Accessing the information is not feasible everywhere. Many countries still have not enough libraries, schools and educational possibilities. The people who are living in there can't benefit from printed materials. However, internet can be widely used in many regions of countries. For example few years ago, I was living at the Kinik where is a small town of Antalya. I had limited time to present my homework to the school. I could not find any library to search about topic of homework. Because Kinik was very small town and hadn't any library. The only way was going to to center of Antalya for necessary resources. Center was so far from Kinik. With these circumstances I completed my homework by Google without going to center. As you can see, I was not able to present my homework easily if the internet doesn't exist.

Secondly using internet is beneficial for nature. People don't need a papers when they research from internet. Naturally , any reduction of the requirement of the paper will effects cutting trees positively. For example , I had researches about histroy of financial products. It was a project of the university. I used the library to found necessary books and magazines. Surprisingly the library did not share these materials for one week. Responsibles accepted just few hours to photocopy. Approximately , I took 150 pages of copies. This situation caused paper consumption. If they could share these books on the internet, papers was not counsumed for photocopy. This experience taught to me that using internet for researches helps to nature instead photocopy.

To summarize , according to me choosing internet is better to do research than is the use printed material. Internet using is good choice not only for easy access information but also beneficial for nature. Every body should use internet to do researches.