Should mathematics and philosophy be optional in schools?

Many students find it difficult to learn subjects like mathematics and philosophy and hence they should be optional in schools. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

both Mathematics and Philosophy are useful subjects

Learn by heart is the most common way for learning the many subjects, but, this method does not always go with maths and philosophy as these subjects mainly depend on logical thinking and broad understanding. This situation makes them more difficult and incomprehensible for many students. However, I strongly believe that making them optional in the school syllabus would not be a smart decision as at least the basic concepts of these subjects need to be learned to get on with the life.

Firstly, Mathematics is one of the most important subjects which is frequently using in our day to day life, and most of the mathematical concepts can practically apply to several real-world problems. Similarly, knowledge in mathematics is crucial for several professional fields such as engineering and management, therefore lots of career opportunities available around the globe for people who have extensive knowledge of mathematics.

Likewise, Philosophy also considered as one of the essential subjects for improving the logical thinking and inner qualities of a person. Unlike other subjects, philosophy not targets to any professional specific skills, but it helps to change the thinking style of the person to make an outstanding personality. Philosophy can improve discipline and leadership qualities which play an essential role in being a successful person.

However, It is true that not everyone needs to be experts in mathematics or philosophy and the choice of selecting the future career is a personal choice. But from my point of view, making them mandatory in school level would not make any unfavorable influence on child's ambition, as they can choose preferred paths at the tertiary level education targeting their future career.

In short, I tend to believe that the both Mathematics and Philosophy are kinds of useful subjects and every child should have at least basic knowledge about them.