Max Borders: New Threats to Freedom Essay Competition

Max Borders on our compulsive urge to regulate

It all started with barbeque sauce, or so proclaims Max Borders as he argues about the up and coming threats to freedom. For Max it commenced with barbeque sauce and for another it may be a day-care center. The fact of the matter is that regulation is much broader spanned then one solitary individual. Regulation is "controlling human or societal behavior by rules or restrictions," and it spreads the span of political, legal, and even social mediums. Like all other political initiatives, regulations can bring benefits as well as harm. The best regulations are those where these sed benefits out weigh the costs. But how heavily is the cost of an individuals freedom weighed?

When one thinks of freedom, depictions of revolutions conjured by decades of civil unrest appear on a screen of the constitutions and documents our Fore Fathers composed to ensure our liberty. This picture of 'motion due to indignation' is stereotypic and due to the increase in development in various countries, it is frankly out of date. As countries urbanize and expand, governments and civil leaders move silently and cunningly with their methods of limited liberation. With parchment barriers and textual obstacles entrepreneurs are unable to establish their businesses, provide for their families, and stimulate the economy. Motivation is the weakness of the societal businessman, and when lacking the paperwork and boundaries will never be processed. It is the psychology of motivation, of the business industry, that needs to be changed, because political officials will not impede their regulation.

Max made an interesting statement that, "cottage industries are at the beginning of wealth creation." Here lies another theory of psychology, the theories of behavior in groups. Cottage industries are individuals primarily focused on manufacturing cohesively part time, and primarily from their homes. With this type of group dynamic, group cohesiveness (the inner linking of group members to one another and to the group itself) facilitates group productivity and passion, thus increasing individual motivation.

The politicians have been urged to regulate for ages, and will continue to regulate. Honestly they must do so to protect society against monopoly, inadequate information, market failures, and social subordination. Though regulation can promote the growth of larger corporations and smother immature ones, the emergence of stronger, more stable, and more motivated cottage industries can reverse this process. Thus reversing the influence of regulation.