Maxim: Beggars are not the choosers.

TOPIC: Beggars are not the choosers.

The maxim under reference brings home to reader a vital philosophy of life. Those who beg have no choice. They actually compromise their self-esteem while extending their bowl to alms giver. Beggars are at the mercy of alms giver. They cannot force any donor to raise the amount of alms. Thus they accept what they are given in the form of alms.

Beggars are greatly subjected to humiliation. They have to bear the taunts of people. People call them names. They do not feel small in extending their bowl. Once the habit of begging is formed, it becomes their psyche. Some beggars, even sustaining their economic condition, do not give up their habit of begging. Thus begging becomes their second nature.

Nations that develop the habit of begging in the form of foreign aid to raise developmental level are always at the mercy of their donor. Such nations do not achieve glory. They, however, have pledged their self-esteem for availing the foreign aid. The donor starts taking hold of his affairs. The donor eventually becomes a self appointed adviser for that nation. The intrusions and interferences of the donor in his personal matters irk the recipient at many times. Thus this process procreates new master-slave relationship in which there is no dignity for the slave. It evinces that no nation can climb up the stairs of progress and prosperity unless it undergoes the phenomenal uplift of self esteem and self reliance.

Beggary is an evil which robs the self-esteem of an individual/ a nation. Thus any beggar, who wishes to raise his self-esteem, should stop relying upon aids. Begging is another form of slavery. An individual/ nation should raise their hands to get the help from the Creator, not from people.