Looking for more other measures (than petrol price) to resolve problems with traffic and pollution

IELTS WRITING

problem solutions

Topic: Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Incresing the petrol's cost is a good way to reduce traffic and pollution problems, but I believe that it is not the best way and we need more other measures to better resolve these problems.

I agree that raising the petrol's price is a good choice because of two reasons. Firstly, it will increase travelling expenses, led to decrease travelling demands and frequency. Secondly, higher price will make input cost of businesses more expensive, especially within manufacturing companies, so they have to switch to other cheaper and cleaner kinds of power. Both of these two benifits would help to reduce polluted air, one of the most reason causing pollution problems. However, it is not the best way because we can not permanently reduce price and travelling is an essential need, unable to be continuously limited. Therefore, we need more other effective measures as well as the ways to combine different methods.

There are two other ways we can consider. On the one hand, studying and applying new powers, such as electric power or solar power, both called recyled energies. By using those, we could devide new and modern means of transportations, like tramcars or electric bikes. On the other hand, we should combine more different methods at the same time. For example, parallel to promulgate new regulations, limiting the number of personal cars or bikes each citizen can own, we need to develop more public transportation facilities to adapt gradually increasing needs for going around. Beside, authorities should strongly fine behaviours causing pollution, say littering.

In conclusion, beside the way of increasing the price of petrol, we should apply many others measures to better resolve the ascending traffic and pollution problems.