IELTS - Media Attention to Report Celebrities' Life Instead of The Ordinaries

The media pay too much attention to lives and relationships of celebrities such as actors, singers or footballers. They should spend more time reporting the lives of ordinary people instead.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Human's lifestyle is most influenced by media. For that reason, some of communities suggest the media should inform more common people's stories than those of famous people such as actors, singers or footballers which lately become media's focus. While I firmly believe that celebrities' stories can positively influence society in obtaining their successful lives, I personally argue that by exposing more ordinary people's stories, the media are able to encourage society to have a low-profile character and facilitate them to improve their social awareness.

I would argue that the stories of common people exposed by the media lead society to be low-profile as a person does a multi-modal learning while they are watching and reading information from the media. A related study shows that such a kind of learning process can lead the learners remembering ninety percent of the whole information. It is because this process activates all learning modalities such as visual, auditory, and kinaesthetic learning and provides a real context at once. As result, this low-profile value which is contained can fully be delivered and absorbed by the audience.

In addition, the reports of common people's life are closely related to a high social awareness of community since it exposures people by the daily life of the ordinaries that develop genuine empathy. It was proved in South Africa which set a television drama series for social change, titled Soul City. Consequently, the society became more aware of social and health issues and were prompted to help each other. It is proved that media's focus on common people stories tends to generate a worldwide benefit.

Conversely, those of the celebrities will influence people to acquire their success harder. The more the people are exposed by the achievement stories, the bigger they have internal motivation. Therefore, the society are one step closer to their successful lives. There is no doubt that such media reports have a remarkable advantage.

The aforementioned evidence shows that reporting stories about the famous can lead people to their success, while the community will benefit greatly if they are exposed more by those of the common people. However, I strongly believe both kinds of information can be reported in a balance proportion in media. Where possible, media should not put too many scenarios in the stories so as to emphasize their real sense.