Media Broadcast Too Much of Popular People : Agree or Disagree

THE MEDIA PAY TOO MUCH ATTENTION TO THE LIVES AND RELATIONSHIPS OF CELEBRITIES SUCH AS ACTORS, SINGERS OR FOOTBALLERS. THEY SHOULD SPEND MORE TIME REPORTING THE LIVES OF ORDINARY PEOPLE INSTEAD.

TO WHAT EXTEND DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

It is presumed that celebrities private lives are getting too much interest of media such as magazines or live reports in television. As far as I am concerned, although the information of the media can be monotonous and tiresome, I do not agree if daily activities of ordinary citizens should be publicizing more.

The supporters of this notion argue that the information which is given by media are repetitious and is sometimes worthless because the reporters concentrate on delivering up to date news of celebrities. Taking Indonesia as an example, there are various gossip programs in almost all private channels which air at least once in a day. As a result, the audiences are presented of the reports continuously and it is not worthy to spend more time to watch the broadcasting. Also, the TV programs just inform the scandals of famous people that can be upsetting. It is thus clear that the production team of the shows considers to limit the publication of superstars live.

However, it is certainly tragic that from the media perception, a large number of people do not want to watch the report of ordinary people. The inhabitants tend to watch the well-known residents due to entertainment pleasure. Moreover, the fact that it is a popular people's lifestyle make it more interesting. In fact, even though showing the common people experiences such as the life of inspiring teachers can motivate others, much more newscast of normal citizens will not work for some viewers.

To sum up, although the broadcast of actors, singers, or footballers is wearisome, it is not necessary for the journalists to present more of regular residents. Nonetheless, the amount of useless news of famous people should be reduced.