'Media can destroy reputation' - GRE ISSUE

Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

In the above claim, the author explains that it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero as their reputation, subjected to media pore over, will diminish. It may come off as true initially. But on pondering over the claim, we can see countless men and women who still remain to be a hero in many people's heart. Who is a Hero? Is he someone who possesses supernatural powers like the characters in marvel and DC comics? Is he a layman, an industrious one, who has made lot of money? No. Neither account for the definition of a hero. A hero is someone who has brought about a change. Someone after his death may have left the world physically but his contribution to the world will always and forever be remembered. He is the one who influences others, managed to make a poignant impact on us. He is the one who people call as a Great Man.

A very well known example of a hero would be Mother Teresa for her immense contributions. She changed the way people treat the indigent and the destitute. She gave them a hope. She dedicated her entire life to the old and the needy. She carried them herself and fed them. She became a role model for many. Born in Calcutta, a small city in india, she became popular throughout the world. She extended her support not only to her country, but the whole world. As a popular women, her every action was monitored. Although her critics tried to condemn her actions, she managed to stay top of them. She continued to be a benevolent Christian. Even after her death in the '90s, people travel the world to still visit her aashram in Calcutta and she continues to stays connected with us by her deeds.

Now, coming to Barrack Obama, a man known for his modesty. Many of us know him as The President of The United States of America. A Black American who struggled his way to success is an example of unrelenting determination, perseverance and most of all, Courage. Being the first black president of the states, he sets an example to all of us to strive toward our goal against all the odds. This way he has motivated several Americans and non Americans. Being the president of such a great nation, he is bound to scrutiny by the media all over the world. His every move is documented. And not once has he been subjected to any scandals or indiscretion.

Another well know example, at least in the world of football, is Lionel Messi. Unlike the rest, he is not only browsed thoroughly by the mass media, but he is also scrutinized by the enemy football clubs and fans. Growing up in a small town in Rosario, in Argentina, he fought a winning battle with a childhood hormonal problem which he suffered from. Now just 25, he has changed the game with his unique style of football with sleek, supple moves, tearing the opponents defense apart and scoring record breaking number of awe striking goals. He is even compared with the football legends, heroes like Maradonna, Pele by the same media and has been hailed by the legendary players themselves, as a footballing hero. Not only because he is prowess with the ball, but his ability to maintain away from media claptraps, which most of the footballers fall prey to.

However, media can in one way help boost a person's reputation at the same time, make a fool of him. In all, I would like to conclude saying not everyone who becomes popular in the world are prone to become ill famed. Only those with ill intentions will become a mascot to the media. Others, like above mentioned, will continue to make a difference and remain close in the peoples heart, inspiring them in every step they take, as a Hero.

***I think I Swerved off topic a little. Please feel free to comment.