IELTS TASK 2 : the media empowering too much attention to the celebrities' personal life

The media pay too much attention to the lives and relationships of celebrities such as actors, singers or footballers. They should spend more time reporting the lives of ordinary people instead.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are arguments about the media empowering too much attention to the celebrities' personal life and they should reduce that by increasing the news of the ordinary people. In my personal point of view, I find myself disagreeable with both above arguments due to the following examples.

On the one hand, social journalists often prioritize hot and up-to-date events in the entertaining area which include many related celebrities rather than the famous people's private life. In fact, the media seriously follow the breaking news to get attention from their readers. For example, in sport, the media often focus on reporting a big coming up championship, foreseeing the next winner of a game or how well the strategy of a team is, rather than focusing on the private life of the famous player. In addition, social journalists focus on the stories of successful people in the particular area. These topics often are about their goals and achievements, their admirable lifestyle or their working philosophies which people can learn and can be inspired by. The reporter would rarely ask about the business man's married life or children because it will go off the topic.

On the other hand, spending more time reporting on ordinary people whose lives are little known by anyone will cause a fall in reading rate of the news. Trend-setters' news will definitely be more eye-catching than some random people walking down the street. Readers who are mostly youngsters are more accessible with news about the people they have already known such as a character from a movie they like or famous artist which are so familiar on the social platform. As a result, the media take benefits from their readers and subscribers so they need to provide news that most people are interested in.

In conclusion, I think the media have a duty to report all the important news which can attract their readers the most.