Media does not only reflect culture and social life

The media of the nation does not only reflect the cultural and social life of its residents but also helps in developing a positive mindset. The human mind finds entertainment in the television content, such as violence and profanity that is unnatural to itself because these appear as unexplored areas as the person has always been taught to follow peace and harmony by his parents and by the society he lives in. So, by living in the imaginary world through television a person can fulfill his hidden desires. But too much indulgence in such activities causes the mid to degrade to such a level the person might actually commit those activities in real life and the minds that get affected the most are those of children. In India, the unawareness of films rating is found not only with illiterate but also with the literate population. Due to this the people with sensitive minds and heart, especially children are exposed to contents that affect them. It is a common sight in the country that parents are found watching mature contents along with their children. Even if the parents are responsible, it is difficult; nowadays to keep aloof children from television, especially when both parents are working and children are left alone at home. Even if the children are stopped from watching the mature contents on television, freedom to the broadcasters will lead to telecast of contents that would be unsuitable for people of all ages because it is difficult for a person to judge for himself. Hence, it becomes a prime responsibility of the government to understand the mindset of the people of the nation or community and decide what kind of shows might prevent a mind from degradation.