If you could meet a historical figure, who would it be? TOEFL essay

As a person who aspires to be a physicist, I always pined to meet one of the most famous physicists in existence, Richard Feynman. A brilliant physicist, yet one who stands out among others due to his legendary personality and a plethora of various expreinces.

First of all, Feynman has an almost ubiquitous presence in Physics articles. And many famous Physicists have mentioned his named while discussing their own works or providing anecdotes from their own expereinces. In fact, Stanford Physicist Leonard Susskind once mentioned that "Feynman's period was a golden period in physics, everyone wanted to work with him". Given Feynman's status among his peers, I would also like to meet Feynman in person and be able to descry what made him so inspirational and likeable among his peers. Perhaps furing our meet, some of Feynman's inspiration may rub of on me.

Judging from Feynman's biography and what many people say about him, Feynman always seemed to be full of great ideas and had a simple yet elegant way of explaining recondite physics problems. In fact, before Feynman worked on Superfluid helium, other physicists before him, some of the nobel-prize winners, have been able to only produce an incomplete model for the behaviour of superfluid Helium. Feynman took only a pencil and a sheet of paper and wrote the behaviour of helium, and soon was able to extract a complete model for something that has eluded Physicists for so long. During our meet, I'd would want to understand how Feynman thinks about physics problems, what goes on in his head when he considers so many parameters, how the proverbial light bulb starts to shine in his mind, so that I may be able to reproduce his way of thinking one day.

Another thing Feynman had was eclectic interests, and a wide range of experiences. Being passionate about drums, Feynman once took a year off to travel to Brazil and play the bongos properly. Feynman was one of the youngest members of the manhattan project and would cantankerously annoy the security guards. Upon our meet, I would like to enquire about his medley of experiences and what he thinks of them in retrospect. Being a person of ecelctic interests myself, I would like to know how Feynman balances everything is his Life.

Feynman is everything I aspire to be. I beleive that in order to even measure up to him, I must learn a great many things from him. And hence, Richard Feynman is my person of choice