Memorial Day Essay - significant history

Memorial Day Essay: "What is Memorial Day, and what does it mean to you?" Word Count Limit: 500-525

It would be appreciated if you could find any mechanical errors, or give me some other ideas, feedback and that kind of stuff that I could include in the essay. Well here it is:

Memorial Day has a significant history which makes it such a poignant and touch holiday that it is today. Memorial Day was originally proclaimed as Decoration Day on May 5, 1868, by General John Logan, a Union general of the Civil War. Decoration Day was first observed on May 30, 1868 at the Arlington National Cemetery. On that day, flowers were laid on the graves of those who had died during the U.S. Civil War, both Union and Confederate soldiers. Despite the initial observation five years before, Decoration Day was first recognized by the state of New York in 1873. By 1890, it was recognized by most of the northern states as a national holiday. However, the southern states had failed to acknowledge May 30th as Decoration Day. Instead, each state of the south has their own "Decoration Day" type of holiday, by calling it different names, celebrated on different days. During the reconstruction of World War I, Decoration Day was expanded to honor all U.S. military soldiers who died from any actions the United States has taken its part in. It wasn't until then the southern states had finally begun to observe Decoration Day. Nevertheless, the southern states had continued to celebrate their other form of "Decoration Day."