'all men are equal before the law' - fixed punishments for each type of crime?

Could somebody help me!!! Thank you in advance.

TOPIC: Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, think that the circumstance of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should be taken into account when making decision on the punishment.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinions?

250 words

Generally it is claimed that punishments should be specific for every single crime. Instead, other people think that during the decision of the punishment the benches should take into account when someone committed a crime. I believe that both of these views are correct.

Firstly, we have to remember that all men are equal before the law and someone, whoever he is, have to judge for his felony.

The sentences are different depending on the crimes. For example, a man who burgled an house goes to jail for three years. Obviously, the judgment will be different for a man who killed someone and his imprisonment will be longer than the first. Because the law have to guarantee our safety and that this man do not commit this crime again.

On the other hand, people argue that benches should consider the motivation when a crime is committed.

For, example, imagining a women who is attacked. She get aggressor with blunt instrument during the scuffle. The assailant die on site.

The benches should take into account the circumstances of this crime. The woman is not a criminal and her intention in that moment was to defend herself.

In conclusion, I believe that both of these views should be considered by benches during the verdict. The law is equal for everyone and the judgment should correspond to the crime with exceptions for particular circumstances.