Mercy & Grace - eternal life, eternal punishment

Topic: Mercy

A common adage says that grace gives what people do not deserve - eternal life while mercy withholds what people do deserve - eternal punishment. However, mercy goes much deeper than that, it is the kindness between human beings.

Mercy strengthens the relationship between mankind. It is often a neglected fact that people can only demonstrate mercy when they are willing to lower themselves. Only when they put themselves in the shoes of those inferior people, can they fully understand what those people need and provide efficient helps. Showing mercy is not the act of throwing some penny to a beggar in order to get rid of him. However, it is rather when one comes to beggar, puts some coins in the box, asking if what he has given is enough for the needy family. By demonstrating mercy, people show their most treasured characteristics, kindness, to people in need. It makes people who are afflicted be more likely to believe in love between humankind because he enjoys the sweetness given by others. People believe it more when they experience it. In return, helpers gain blessings and respect from the needy. Thus, their relationship is built or strengthened, making a warm society where everyone is a son or a daughter of God.

Mercy, to a certain extent, is clarified as forgiveness which helps to maintain the peace worldwide. It is the key factor to solve every kind of conflict. A War can be brought up by many factors such as greed, hatred or disagreement. However, there is only one factor that can put a complete end to a war. It is forgiveness. For example, during the Vietnam War, the American Army had sprayed Agent Orange on various areas all over Vietnam, resulting in various deaths and disabilities. The Agent results in many genetics diseases, making the children who have never engaged in the war suffer from a variety of diseases which is passed down by their parents. Therefore, people around the world definitely think that the Vietnamese victims must possess so much hatred towards the American soldiers. However, they will be surprised to know that the Vietnamese victims have warmly welcomed the American soldiers during their visits to the village. They have treated each other in a surprisingly friendly manner as if all the disastrous consequences have never existed. It is forgiveness that brings human beings closer together. No matter what happens before, together, people play their parts to maintain the harmony.

It is said that only as we demonstrate mercy, do we receive God's mercy. However, a question which raises so much concern among people is that if our motivation of showing mercy is merely a ploy to receive mercy from God. It is definitely shallow if people showing mercy based upon the fear of punishment and hope of reward. Mercy is truly loving our fellow men and willing to put ourselves out, to the extent that we are able. Thus, do enjoy being the givers of mercy!

In conclusion, it is my belief that mercy is not simply the withholding of punishment. It is more of the act of helping and showing kindness towards others to make our world a better world.