WHAT is the message that advertisement is communicating to the viewer?

This essay should follow the following curriculum:

"WHAT is the message that advertisement is communicating to the viewer, AND HOW do the different elements of the advertisement function to communicate that message or argument?

Some aspects of your advertisement to consider when making your argument and structuring your essay:

- Audience of advertisement

- Visual Impact

- Language

- Overall message

- Effectiveness of advertisement"

ESSAY:

Just Do It

"Nike", is it for everyone? Every athlete? Or every soccer player? This Nike commercial is trying to flow excitement and passion through the viewer to try and bring the viewer to a state in which he/she is really "pumped" and can fully understand and intake the broad yet specific message that can fulfill to every athlete, soccer player and your average Joe. When a viewer looks at this advertisement there are three main descriptions in that each one targets a certain audience but all together target everyone. In this advertisement for Nike, Nike does not target a specific product but targets the whole Nike industry.

The first description, a person in this case, that the viewer notices is this "random" guy screaming as if just winning something valuable, a game, prize, etc.. Which in this case targets anyone who sees the advertisement. Every person would like to win something as "big" as this guy did and would like to feel that state of thrill. Even though the viewer might have no clue who this man is or the company that created the commercial he/she will feel a sense of pride and accomplishment from just noticing the man's facial and body expressions.

Nike's famous "Just Do It" and check mark logo trademark is known throughout most of the world; and most people are familiar with the Nike brand and its products. This element focuses on many athletes in general because Nike as a manufacturer produces athletic gear and products anywhere from mouth guards to tennis rackets. Even Nike's "formal" lines of clothes are sporty looking. A good number of people who would identify the "Just Do It" trademark and check mark logo as a representative of Nike are probably athletes or have some background knowledge that Nike is a sporting good company and with this advertisement specifically this element (logo and trademark) Nike is particular in reaching out to athletes or people who have a more enhanced knowledge of Nike, its logos and its products as well.

Wayne Rooney is the final element that Nike uses to communicate to the reader. Only people who know this man are familiar with soccer. The people who would identify this man as a soccer player are mostly soccer fans of either or all kinds of fans with Rooney in mind. They are either a general soccer fan, a Manchester United fan, or English fan or all of them. For those who wouldn't recognize Wayne, wouldn't know that he is a soccer player who plays for Manchester United club and England's national soccer team as well. So just knowing Wayne Rooney would mean that this advertisement targets soccer fans, Manchester United fans and English fans.

If its either the warrior man, "Just Do it", check mark, or Wayne Rooney these elements that Nike uses can be broad and very specific at the same time according to the viewers background information about each element. If a viewer does not find a relation between anyone of the elements then Nike is most probably producing products that is not suitable or a product that the viewer would not like. This advertisement is trying to give the viewer some kind of excuse (excitement, background information about the company and its logos and trademarks) to bring Nike and the viewer on equal grounds as well as promote Nike's products.

Overall, the purpose of this advertisement is to give the viewer a few elements that he/she might bond with according to their background information and get the viewer to be more familiar with "Nike" and its products. Nike is trying to tell this viewer on a general scale that it supports his/her enthusiasm about sports and adrenaline as well as communicating with the viewer on a more precise scale, which is soccer. This advertisement also uses pathos and ethos to better communicate with the audience. Pathos in the intensity of winning and pride and ethos in awakening the athlete through Rooney and "Just Do It".Nike's advertisement is not solely focusing on one product but on Nike itself as a sporting good company and producer.