Minimum age limit for driving - Discussion

Most countries allow 18-year-old to drive a car. Some people say this is a good age to start driving. Other people say that the minimum age to drive a car should be at least 25 years

Driving skills and safety versus age of a driver

Some people believe that the minimum age of driving vehicle is 18 while others consider that 25 is a better age for driving since people are more mature. I believe that the age is not a determining factor as far as the experience is. This essay will analyse both sides of the argument.

On the one hand, several people believe that the rates of accidents are increasing due to the negligence of immature young drivers and also they believe that the person is matured enough at the age of 25. Also teens do not have the ability to handle worst situation that happens on the road as they are immature. Moreover, as the impact of movies and television stunts, some of the youngsters modify their cars, engines and race them just for attention of others. Since the maturity has not grown among the teenagers, 25 is the age where a person should be allowed to sit behind the wheel.

On the other hand, many people strongly believe that most of the accidents caused by the young drivers are because of lack of experience regardless the age. People of any age group without adequate experience can cause such accidents. Instead of increasing the driving age limit, the government have to identify the root cause of the accidents and appropriate preventive measures should be taken accordingly. For Instance, every road should be given a moderate speed limit and the drivers should be penalised on spot if they exceed the limited speed. The government should make more awareness about the reckless and drunk driving among the public and it definitely reduce the accidents to a great extent.

In conclusion, the driving age should not be raised to 25 and the people over 18 should be allowed to drive as long as they are experienced enough.