Minority Languages to Die Out? - IELTS, task2

As languages such as English, Spanish and Mandarin become more widely spoken , there is a fear that many minority languages may die out. Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages.

What is your view of this practice?

Minority Languages Dying

As the world become more connected, the attention is more drawn toward the prominent languages like English; Spanish and Mandarin as they are spoken by quite the majority of population around the globe. However, this has created a concern that some old languages spoken by small nations will be forgotten because of neglection, so people started to make plans in order preserve their original cultures as language is an important part of it. In this essay I will discuss some suggestion that might be useful in preserving languages.

One of the solutions would be government interference. For example making all governmental activities in the original language, like trade activities; usual internal transactions, this would enforce people to use their own language even more instead of using the control languages and help them to stay attached. On the other hand, some argue that this procedure would cause disruption in international activities, like students who study abroad or international trade activities as all of these paper work transactions must be translated.

Another action can be done by using education. Raising young children with the concept of being proud of their language; using it in teaching classes so that they can grow having the original roots of their nation wherever they go. However, as globalization become much more enabled, it would be even waste more than useless to ignore or even not giving a great attention to the dominant spoken languages in order to save what eventually will go. Hard obstacles will face such suggestion.

While it is considered an important financial part of every country, tourism can be used as a great tool to publish the knowledge of the original country culture abroad. For example; employing specialized translators as tourist guides; using translated brochures about historical features in the place and utilizing media in making short documentary films in such purpose. This would draw attention of the world even more to the minor languages so that preserving them and improving the financial state in parallel.

All in all, languages especially the old ones deserve having attention and actions must present in order to maintain them as being an important part of every culture. A lot of solutions present in order to preserve them, eventually making people connected doesn't necessitate omitting our history that represents us.