5. mixed --21st century=opportunity,you agree/disagree, changes you hope--

5. Many people are optimistic about the 21st century and see it as an opportunity to make positive changes to the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with their optimism? What changes would you like to be made in the new century?

Along with the rapid development of human society, we are experiencing a change that never happened before. A majority of people take an optimistic attitude to the coming of new millennium. Personally, I think the coming of 21 century will bring us not only more opportunities, but also more challenges.

It is no doubt that the 21 century will bring us more opportunities and improve our life condition. For individuals, the development of medical skills and new medicines will save more precious lives; the further communication among countries will also produce more chances for individuals to visit other countries and to study new knowledge, so that by enriching their knowledge and experiences, make them more eligible for their careers and contribute more to the society. In turn, in terms of countries, the development of individuals will lead to them stronger and more abilities to sever citizens, thereby creating more harmonious atmosphere and living environment for human being.

However, at the mean time, there will be many potential challenges. We do not need to mention other things, only pay little attention to News we will know how many tragedies happened every day. Earthquake, tsunami, hurricane and so on, are threatening our lives every seconds. So if these phenomena do not be investigated clearly, human will still under the threat of natural forces.

Personally, I hope the new changes in new millennium will include the following things:

First, it is the issues existing in present society, such as education, employment and medical care system, as well as housing. Secondly, I hope the formation of natural forces that cause severe damages could get a clear answer. I also hope we could get reply about why they form; what we can do to prevent them; and what we can do to avoid these serious and disastrous results.

In conclusion, the coming of new millennium will bring us both opportunities and challenges. Facing it, human being still has many arduous assignments to deal with. In my opinion, I hope we could solve not only the society problems but also the formation principle of natural forces.