IELTS - Writing t2 - Mobile telephones have brought many benefits but they have also had negatives

Hi everybody, I am going to take the IELTS exam this summer. Please help me to review my essay and give me your opinions.

Thank you so much.

Mobile telephones have brought many benefits but they have also had negative effects.

Do the disadvantages of having mobile phones outweigh the advantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Owning a mobile phone. What does that mean today?

Nowadays, the development of mobile telephones gives people many advantages. However, there are a lot of disadvantages brought when people use mobile phones. In this essay, I am going to examine this question from both points of view and then give my opinion on the matter.

On the one hand, there are several positive effects on using mobile phones. Firstly, the cutting-edge technology like mobile phones can offer opportunities for people to be better educated. This is because that people are able to study online subjects on websites in their domestic or another country. Besides, documents can be found easily through the mobile phone connected the Internet. Secondly, some functions on mobile phones can assist people to relax. People can listen to music or watch videos whenever they desire.

On the other hand, this idea has a few fundamental drawbacks. One problem is that the concentration can be decreased. For example, the person who is working or studying cannot focus on what he is doing if his phone bell ring many times. Another issue is that having mobile phones can make people lonelier. This is due to that most people contact with each other through their phone. Hence, the face-to-face communication is not usually used. In addition to this, many children and teenagers who are addicted game online stay at their home regularly instead of meeting or going out with their friends.

In conclusion, having mobile phones does not only bring convenience but also negative influences. Overall, I believe that there is a balance in benefits and drawbacks when people use mobile phones.