'modern appliances' - Technology help improve our lifestyle

Modern appliances in the home have become common leaving no doubt that advances in technology help improve our lifestyle. Do you agree or disagree?

At the turn of 21st century, the immense advances in technology have made a profound impact on every aspect of people's lives. Concerning the advent of modern appliances in the home, some argue that these inventions are making our lives increasingly complicated. However, as far as I am concerned, a substantial reduction in doing domestic chores and more leisure activities are tangible benefits that modern appliances make people's lives improve.

The first point needs to be made is that people are likely to reduce their time in doing domestic chores thanks to household appliances. Washing machines, for instance, are modified for different types of clothes; thus, people no longer need to spend much time on their laundry. Another example is microwave oven, it enables housewives to cook and heat food surprisingly faster. As these examples make clear, people, therefore, can lessen the amount of time they spend on domestic chores.

Equally relevant to the issue is that modern appliances provide people with a wide variety of leisure activities. Various devices have been modernized to meet people's leisure interests. For instance, by means of HD televisions, people are able to watch live soccer matches comfortably at home. Even viewers can enjoy lots of high-quality films thanks to 3D television screens without going to the movies. In addition, mobile phones or computers make people accessible to a great source of entertainment such as video games, Internet, and so forth. In short, people can enjoy more leisure activities with the help of modern appliances.

However, some have opposing view that modern appliances have contributed to people's sedentary lifestyle. Because of their growing reliance on household devices, people do not want to involve in any domestic tasks but to sit in chairs. As a result, they are likely to be passive or suffer from obesity. Nonetheless, it is my contention that people can know how to make reasonable use of these appliances with a view to not causing undesirable consequences.

In the light of the above-mentioned argument, one can safely conclude that modern appliances offer us great conveniences to improve people's lives. These technological devices have served as assistance helping people to handle domestic chores, and also to participate in various leisure activities