IELTS essay-Modern children are suffering from the diseases like obesity. Causes&solutions

Modern children are suffering from the diseases that were once considered to be meant for adults only. Obesity is a major disease prevalent among children. What are its causes and what solutions can be offered?

As the proverb says, "Health is wealth", one who has good health is said to have the wealth for his/her lifetime. Nowadays, even children are suffering from pervasive diseases like obesity at their early stages of life. There are many causes for it and it is high-time that we work on the preventive measures to avoid them.

Food habits and lack of physical activities are the notable reasons for obesity. In this modern era, children are fond of junk foods than having nutritious diet. Hanging out in the fast food restaurants with friends is considered to be a fashion. Nowadays, schools only focus on studies and some schools do not have playgrounds. For example, a 12 year old boy in my neighborhood does not gets a chance to play as his school starts at 9am and gets over by 5pm. Even in the evening, parents force him to read and to concentrate on home works and never allows him to play.

Serious measures have to be taken to avoid this situation. Parents should spend quality time with their kids to check on the favorite dishes and take efforts in preparing it for them. For instance, instead of buying Pizza/ Burgers, emphasize the importance of eating fresh fruits and juices, which makes their health more strong. Teaching them to cook will turn out to be a good hobby in the future for the kids. Also, motivate the young ones to regularly exercise and participate in any of the games, which they wish to.

To conclude, it is important that children are taught to have a healthy balanced diet and to do regular physical exercise which is lacking in the current generation kids.