IELTS Writing Task 2: Modern communication vs Writing letters

Topic: Modern communications mean that it's no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

handwritten letters will become obsolete

It is evident that technology has rapidly evolved over the past few decades, reshaping the way of communications among people all around the world. Although some still use written letters, this traditional way to communicate should be eliminated due to substantial benefits of modern ones.

One of the main advantages of modern communications over the traditional is higher quality. First, since the information is digitized, modern communications, such as email and messaging apps, have capability to embed with media contents. For example, by using email, people can attach not only many photos but also videos, which is much more convenient than traditional letters. Second, modern communications allow users to read and comprehend the content easily. In fact, words of typing letters have better font, which is easier to read as well as have fewer errors compared to the written ones.

Another substantial benefit of modern communications is higher quantity. First, since writing by hand requires time to keep words clear for reading easily, typing is much faster. This means that users can save a lot of time by typing on either computers or mobile phones. In addition, thanks to mobile networks and the Internet, modern communications are conducive to sending to multiple receivers. For instance, in order to send messages to several receivers, email users only need to type the messages once instead of writing many letters for each receiver.

In conclusion, modern communications are far more beneficial and convenient than writing letters. This way of communicating should be encouraged and developed more to make our life better.