IELTS: Modern eating habits and lifestyle has had negative effects on children.

In many countries today, the eating habits and lifestyle of children are different from those of previous generations. Some people say this has had a negative effect on their health.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Modern age has introduced many changes in almost all walks of life. Humans from all age groups have adopted the effects in certain ways. Many people believe that this has greatly affected the children's life and their way of living. This has also altered the choices that the children use to have in food than the earlier generation. Some people believe that it is bad for their health. I completely agree with the statement and will provide some reasons to support the argument.

First, the eating habits children have adopted in the modern times are dangerous to their health. Many children, these days, prefer to eat from fast food restaurants. The food in those restaurants does not only have insufficient nutrients but it also causes diseases in them. These diseases may not be obvious at once but during later age they come into action. Among them blood pressure, heart diseases and diabetes are the commonly seen. Moreover, the food weakens a child. The low nutrients food effects the children's mental development too.

Second, the lifestyle children have adopted in the modern time has its own type of drawbacks. Spending a great deal of time in playing computer games and surfing internet is the most common lifestyle which is presently seen in children. As it is a well-known fact that physical sports have its merits not only for the body health but for mental as well. Furthermore, by spending their time in the virtual world of computer they are getting away from many social aspects; for example, helping and co-operating others etc. this lifestyle is a threat to their behavioural development.

In conclusion, I believe that in order to make children physically and mentally healthy the caretakers should pay special attention towards their eating habits and living style as in modern times they may be detrimental for their health.