IELTS task 2: modern innovations bring a lot of problems than benefits

Opinions about innovative developments

Topic: Some people say that modern innovations bring a lot of problems than benefits, do you agree or disagree ?

The controversial consequences of innovative developments are recently under the spotlight of society. While there are some strong arguments that they affect our life in different negative ways, I support the view that the benefits of technological advances far outweigh their drawbacks.

It is undeniable that technology breakthroughs, such as the manufacturing machines of next generation that installed in warehouses across the world, cause an increasing unemployment rate among blue collar workers. However, I would argue they accelerate the transformation of society and in turn improve the quality of life in the long term. Take the same example, sophisticated machinery perform much better than human in areas where the accuracy is the priority. Careless mistakes in calculation can be avoid, and at the same time, they save us from labour-intensive exercises and let us concentrate on essential creative tasks.

Alongside advanced computational capabilities, innovations in the field of communication open a new world of opportunities. Thanks to modern connecting software pioneers like Slack and Zoom, a great number of employees manage to work remotely yet together and companies keep operating during the lockdown period. Another obvious example is the popularity of online learning, some first-class universities are able to offer online courses through Coursera with the help of communication and real-time date transmission technology. They triumph geological boundaries and encourage handicapped group and even full-time staff continue self-development anytime, anywhere.

In conclusion, innovative technology certainly has a problematic aspect, I still believe that it is beneficial rather than bewildering from the perspective of humanity and society.