Does modern lifestyle make parents abandon their children?

Modern lifestyles mean that many parents have little time for their children. Many children suffer because they do not get as much attention from their parents as children did in the past. Do you agree or disagree?

In past time, traditional family, it was father who went out to work while mother was at home taking care of their children. It seemed to be upside down compared to modern lifestyle where parents (father and mother) are engaged to their busy life for work, making their children are lack of attention that eventually will make them suffer from being abandoned. I strongly believe that there are advantages of having both parents working.

Some people consider that children whose both parents are working are in an advantage. Since both parents are working it is likely that children will go to schools with better quality along with the supporting facilities. Parents with this kind of lifestyle stand up for their view that they will provide anything their children needed to learn and experience of growing up. For example, parents provide children in sport clubs or other activities which might dig up their potential in early ages. Other than that, children will also enjoy luxurious life of their parents' wealth such as high-tech toys or experience foreign holidays.

On the other hand, some people oppose to the first view said that the absence of parents during children's growth will affect their character because they do not physically give attention and support. In big city such as Jakarta, parents normally leave home in the early morning when their children do not even wake up and they come home when their children are asleep, meaning that parents leave their children to grow by babysitter or maid. This situation may cause children to grow with characters like their babysitter or maid. Moreover, its negative impact in the long run is getting serious when children are easily to get involved on such things like drugs and underage drinking.

When I was child, both my parents were working, and I was left to babysitter. Yet since we lived in countryside, my parents worked in town which was not too far from our house. Eventually they did not come home late unlike those who live in big city. So, I could still play and study with my parents.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that it cannot be avoided that both parents have to work in this globalization era to support family's life. The situation in which parents give direct attention to children is relatively depending on where they live. If they live in particular area where it takes short time to get to work and get home, it will be easy for parents to turn up during children development. However, if they live in area where it takes longer time to reach both office and home, they should maintain how to build the relationship of parents and children. For example, organize family (outdoorsy) activities on the weekend such as camping, playing out bond, or cycling.